The Adventures Of Tintin – The Secret Of The Unicorn (3D)


Providing a good old-fashioned adventure story, and featuring some outstanding computer animation, Spielberg’s Tintin managed to appease my childhood love of Herge’s work as well as entertain for the duration of the film.

As I mentioned above, I was, and still am, a huge fan of Tintin and his adventures. Many an afternoon was spent reading about the young reporter and his little dog in my younger years. Tintin’s japes around the world filled me with delight and wonder, as he did things I could never dream of, in places I would never see. He may or may not have been a childhood hero of mine, so much so that I once knocked a tooth out trying to look like him. It’s a long story…

Don't Mess with the Tintin!

So when this animated film version of Tintin was announced, I was rather excited. I’d seen the 90′s cartoon series of course, so I knew that Tintin and his adventures could be easily transferred from page to screen, and the inclusion of Spielberg and Jackson were a pretty good indication that time, care, and that a love of entertaining an audience would be evident in the final product.

And I’m glad to say, I wasn’t disappointed.

In spite of the aftereffects of a migraine that had put me down for over twelve hours the previous day, I sat grinning like a fool, ignoring the pain, as Tintin, Captain Haddock and Snowy traipsed the globe in their search for the “Secret of the Unicorn, thoroughly swept up in the rather peculiar looking world full of photo-realistic Herge characters. The animation is brilliant, as you would expect, but it is the little details, such as Haddock’s head being slightly too large for his body, or the round and bulbous faces of Thompson and Thomson, that were really nice. It made me feel like the world of Herge and his intrepid reporter was being shown to me on-screen, rather than a sanitized “Hollywood” version of it.

Spielberg appears to be having the time of his life during this film. Unrestricted cameras fly through the action, and Tintin performs the type of stunts that Indiana Jones could only dream of, as he proves to be just as indestructible and plucky on screen as he is on paper. The much-lauded one shot chase sequence between Tintin and Haddock, with their bike and sidecar, and the car containing the dastardly Sakharine and his crones, is amazing to watch, and features the humor and fun that makes Tintin so beloved.

The 3D is very similar to the style used for Toy Story 3, where the gimmick is used to add shape more then depth, so unless you are really a 3D freak, I’d say stick with the 2D, save yourself some money and the eyestrain.

This is great family fun, is as true to the original source as it can be, and should delight non-fans and fans alike. I personally can’t wait until the mooted sequels, and am looking forward to one thing in particular. Google “Red Rackham’s Treasure”, and you’ll see what I mean. Shark-shaped one-man submarines, anyone?

Great Snakes! I’m giddy with excitement already!

In U.S. Theaters December 21st

About greywulf

Head Blogger and Editor at justbeyondinfinity on wordpress

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Film Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

