C2E2 Chicago 2011


This past weekend from March 18th through the 20th, The McCormick Place in Chicago held it’s 2nd annual Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo better known as C2E2.  For the 2nd year, my fellow comrade on this site Mike Pampinella and I attended the event.  After being veteran comic-con attendees for years we were pleasantly pleased with the 1st C2E2 held in 2010 and were wowed by 2011’s event in many ways.

For a slight background, I started attending comic-cons back in 2001 starting with the Wizard World events and enjoyed them immensely for years.  It’s like Christmas for comic book nerds.  You get to shop for comics, see artists, and chat it up with fellow comic book enthusiasts. Year after year I attended with great glee. Recently however the Wizard World events have gone through many changes. It’s now just Chicago Comic-Con and has been flooded more with C-list actors than comic book artists and has even seen the likes of big names like Marvel and DC not attend.  Needless to say, this is a big disappointment for many.

Then the news of C2E2 came. Like many, I was skeptical at first and wasn’t sure what to think. Personally the location has and is still my biggest negative if I must have one. It’s a bit farther and parking is tougher and more expensive but sometimes you have to take the bad with the good. When I arrived at the first event, I was pleased very quickly on how everything was cleaning set up and the layout of the event. I found myself there for 2 out of 3 days that the event ran. I was originally planning for just one but wanted more.

Then came C2E2 2011.  After going to the event the following year I was excited for round 2. The biggest surprise was the pure growth from one year to the next. This year’s event was bigger in many ways. More vendors, more artists, and a lot more attendees. I was only able to attend one day this year sadly due to family obligations but I was glad I was able to go. This year’s event was a blast. There was stuff for all ages. Those who attended comic con events in the past know that not only you get to see artists and get to buy comics, but get to see some amazing cos-play as well. That alone can be fun just to see.

Overall the event was well worth attending and I can’t wait for next year.

Posted on March 22, 2011, in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

