G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra (Lonely Devil)


After waiting years for my childhood loves of Transformers and G.I. Joe to come to the silver-screen, I finally got to fulfill that want with G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra. Getting a 2nd Transformer film was icing on that cake as well.

With the Chicago Comic-Con in town, I was torn on when I was going to see Snake Eyes come to life and battle Storm Shadow for ninja supremacy. I was able to sneak a couple hours in for a matinee late Sunday morning and watch the characters I grew up with on the big screen.

Wait...are you a ninja?  Cause ninjas don't use guns.

Wait...are you a ninja? Cause ninjas don't use guns.

Sure the movie has it flaws, for that matter most do. Just like when Michael Bay gave us Transformers on the big screen, Stephen Sommers made some tweaks when bringing this 80’s icon to live action. Some die-hard fans may dislike them, but others should be happy just to see this characters come to life.

Despite being a military type film, Sommers does something Bay didn’t do. He gave us an old love and made it modern without giving us drug humor or overdone sex appeal. Granted Sienna Miller sizzles in her Baroness outfit that reminds me of Kate Beckinsale in Underworld, but he doesn’t go over the top with it, the likes of what Megan Fox did in both films, and Isabel Lucas in the 2nd one. Plus, the dialogue doesn’t give all of those sexual innuendos.

The cast features familiar faces such as Miller, Dennis Quaid, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Sommer’s Mummy regulars Arnold Vosloo and Brandon Fraser in a cameo. Channing Tatum as Duke is the main focus here with his sidekick of sorts Ripcord, played by Marlon Wayans, who is cast here as obvious comic relief. Soon as they focus on the bond between these two soldiers in arm, they shift it to focus on Duke and the Baroness. The chemistry between these two shines and becomes Duke’s driving force almost as much as his devotion to being the best soldier he can be.

Just like the title states, the movie shows us the rise of the terrorist organization known as Cobra. The movie shows us how this group comes to be and leaves us with a cliffhanger setting up future films.

As Devil’s Advocate, I give this film 3 1/2 pitchforks because it brings to life something I loved since I first saw it on my 13″ screen television over 15 years ago.

In reality however, I give this film 2 pitchforks. This film feels very forced in scenes and doesn’t give us the chance to feel anything for the characters as the movie progresses. Wayans, to me, does here what he did for Dungeons & Dragons in which he becomes more of an annoyance than anything. I noticed if another Wayans isn’t directing or acting beside him, he becomes a character that fizzles in humorous attempts and becomes very bothersome.

The other week, while having downtime coming home from my honeymoon, I picked up the movie adaption novel and read it. I stated that it was either going to enhance my viewing of the film or further take away from it. To answer what it did for me, I will leave you with a quote given by one of my fellow colleagues from this site….This movie #$%&*@ my childhood!

Posted on August 12, 2009, in Comic Book Films, DA Film Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

